… the incessant ramblings of a voluble gal

TripIt – My New Travel Companion

Posted on: February 6, 2008

I have a bunch of conferences on my radar, but which ones I will actually attend are still up in the air. I need to make those decisions with my work, so its not just me that gets to decide to go or who on my team wants to go too. But regardless if I go or not, I gotta keep track of them all. I need to know when and where they are at. So I tried Dopplr.

It was cool at first, but thanks to Mashable.com with their recent blogs (this one and that one) on the tool I found something better and cooler to fit my needs. It is called TripIt.

TripIt is a personal travel assistant that automatically organizes all your travel plans. TripIt is free and makes it easy to…

  • Quickly organize your vacation and business travel – no matter where you book
  • Automatically get itineraries with all your plans, weather, maps, restaurants and more
  • Easily access your itineraries via paper, email, personal calendar or mobile device
  • Share your trips and see where you overlap with friends and colleagues

And it mashes up real nice with the following websites:

  Google maps and directions
Home_icon_noaa NOAA weather
Home_icon_seatguru SeatGuru airplane seat advice
Home_icon_wikipedia Wikipedia city information
Home_icon_eventful Eventful current events
Home_icon_flickr Flickr city photos
Home_icon_opentable OpenTable dining reservations

Add on to the fact I can email it my itinerary from multiple email addresses (so I can send it my business and personal travel), and it hooks in with many of the travel booking sites and hotels. The coolest thing about it to me is the .ics file it creates from all my trips and I can create that as a new calender feed in Google Calendar. Love it!

It also alerts my friends when I come to their town. Great trick because it always hits me when I am leaving the city I am visiting that I actually know people there.

I also love that it is totally mobile smart phone friendly. I have checked it out on my T-Mobile Dash and its working so far without any hiccups.

I am still playing with it, so I hope discover more about it and hope that you out there in web 2.0 land are using it too and help me use it to its full potential. So chime in, let me hear your thoughts.

Update 

The only thing now I need is my facebook plugin application to replace my dopplr. I think I am going to widgetize my blog if I can with my “dream travel conferences”.

Leave a Reply

Blog Notice to Readers

This is the personal blog of Andrea R. Baker. The views expressed within this blog are not representative of her employer, Navstar Inc. or any other professional association.



View Andrea R. Baker's profile on LinkedIn



While I may post and discuss the social web on this blog, please refer to my professional blog for my thoughts on Enterprise 2.0 and the workplace.

My Flickr

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

More Photos
