… the incessant ramblings of a voluble gal

Coachella 2008

Posted on: January 30, 2008

I have never been, but this looks like the year I should make an effort to go. The event in years past, and with the 3 day entertainment packed lineup reminds me of one of the best concert events of my lifetime. 1997’s Rock IM Park, in Nuremberg, Germany.

Flyer for Coachella 2008

The days are broken down like this…

FRIDAY

  • Jack Johnson — headliner
  • The Verve
  • Raconteurs
  • Fatboy Slim
  • Tegan and Sara
  • Madness
  • The Swell Season
  • The National
  • Animal Collective
  • Slightly Stoopid
  • Mum
  • Pendulum
  • Sharon Jones
  • Stars
  • Battles
  • Aesop Rock
  • Minus the Bear
  • Spank Rock
  • Diplo
  • Jens Lekman
  • Jon Butler Trio
  • Dan Deacon
  • Architecture in Helsinki
  • Black Lips
  • Data Rock
  • Professor Murder
  • Rogue Wave

SATURDAY

  • Portishead – headliner
  • Kraftwerk
  • Death Cab for Cutie
  • Cafe Tacuba
  • Sasha and Digweed
  • Rilo Kiley
  • Dwight Yoakam
  • MIA
  • Hot Chip
  • Cold War Kids
  • Stephen Malkmus
  • Flogging Molly
  • Mark Ronson
  • Islands
  • Cinematic Orchestra
  • VHS or Beta
  • St. Vincent

SUNDAY

  • Roger Waters — playing Dark Side of the Moon in Entirety
  • Love and Rockets
  • My Morning Jacket
  • Spiritualized
  • Justice
  • Gogol Bordello
  • Chromeo
  • Metric
  • The Streets
  • Simeon Mobile Disco
  • Autolux
  • The Field
  • Les Savy Fav
  • Cool Kids
  • Sons and Daughters
  • Holy Fuck
  • Annuals
  • Man Man
  • I'm From Barcelona
  • Mancester Orchestra
  • Booka Shade
  • Murs

and more

The ones I have made bold are the artists I am particularly looking forward to see. As the time approaches, I will probably discover music by the artists I do not know on this list and make judgments on whether to see them live. What makes this more than just a concert is the 3-day experience. Where you can camp on site. That was probably my best experience at Rock-IM-Park. The camping made me feel like I was there for the experience, the music, the friendship.

This is not an event you should go alone too, you should get friends, get a tent and get down with mother earth.

3 day passes

3-Day passes: $269.00
+ $3 charity + applicable service fees

1 Response to "Coachella 2008"

i’d totally go. that lineup is awesome.

Leave a Reply

Blog Notice to Readers

This is the personal blog of Andrea R. Baker. The views expressed within this blog are not representative of her employer, Navstar Inc. or any other professional association.



View Andrea R. Baker's profile on LinkedIn



While I may post and discuss the social web on this blog, please refer to my professional blog for my thoughts on Enterprise 2.0 and the workplace.

My Flickr

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

Modeling

More Photos